man city league cup winners Manchester City have won four straight League Cups.

Here is the schedule for the 2021-22 League Cup, also known as the EFL Cup or the Carabao Cup.

Updated 1-24-2022 with the Final kickoff time. Skip ahead to the current stage.

(Disclaimer: Some of the links below are affiliate links, meaning Groundhopper Guides may receive some compensation if you make a purchase after clicking one of these links.)

About the EFL Cup

The League Cup, also known as the EFL Cup or the Carabao Cup, is England’s second most important knockout competition after the FA Cup.

The League Cup is a knockout competition for all 92 clubs in the Premier League and Football League — the top four levels of the pyramid of English leagues.

EFL stands for English Football League, and the Cup is sponsored by Carabao, a Thai energy drink company. In the past, it’s been known as the Carling Cup, the Milk Cup and many other names.

The 2021-22 EFL Cup will be played for the 62nd time. After a year of COVID adjustments, the Cup is back to the normal schedule.

Manchester City are the four-time defending champions; they defeated Tottenham Hotspur, 1-0, in the 2021 final at Wembley.

The winner of the competition qualifies for the play-off round of the next season’s Europa Conference League (if they fail to have already qualified for the Champions League or the Europa League).

Here is more info about the League Cup. And here is the schedule for the 2021-22 FA Cup.

How to Watch the League Cup in the USA

watch efl cup league cup soccer ESPN tv online usa

Watch the League Cup on ESPN+ in the US.

2021-22 Carabao Cup Schedule

First Round: August 10-11, 2021

All 48 clubs from EFL League One and League Two were joined by 22 clubs from the EFL Championship, for a total of 35 games. The two clubs who finished 18th and 19th in the Premier League last season, West Bromwich Albion and Fulham, sit this one out.

Second Round: August 24-25, 2021

The 35 winners from the First Round were joined by the last two clubs from the Championship and the 13 Premier League clubs not involved in European competition. That’s 50 clubs and 25 games.

Third Round: September 21-22, 2021

All 25 winners advanced from the Second Round were joined by the seven Premier League clubs that are also playing in Europe: Manchester City, Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool, Leicester City, West Ham, and Tottenham.

Fourth Round (of 16): October 26-27, 2021

This included the 16 winners from the Third Round.

Here are all the League Cup Results so far.

Quarterfinals: December 21-22, 2021

Eight winners advanced from the Fourth Round. Arsenal defeated Sunderland, Chelsea ousted Brentford, Liverpool beat Leicester City, and Tottenham eliminated West Ham.

Semifinals: January 5-6 and 12-13, 2022

Winners from the quarterfinals play two legs, one at each ground. We have tickets to all of these games.

  • January 5: Chelsea 2-0 Tottenham
  • January 12: Tottenham 0-1 Chelsea (Chelsea advance by 3-0 aggregate)
  • January 13: Liverpool 0-0 Arsenal
  • January 20: Arsenal 0-2 Liverpool (Liverpool advance by 2-0 aggregate)

2022 League Cup Final

Chelsea will play Liverpool in the final of the 2021-22 EFL Cup, which will be played February 27, 2022, 4:30 p.m., at Wembley Stadium.

Buy Tickets for the Carabao Cup

Groundhopper Soccer Guides is an official reseller of hospitality packages for the League Cup, including the Final at Wembley. Read more about our League Cup tickets, and fill out the form below to get an up-to-date quote.

Learn more about English soccer:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *