England to Host UEFA Women’s EURO 2022

Paul Gerald · Profile
England to Host UEFA Women’s EURO 2022

After being delayed a calendar year, the 13th edition of the UEFA European Women’s Football Championship will take place in summer 2022 in England. 

The 16-team Women’s EURO will start on July 6 with England playing at Old Trafford in Manchester, and the final will be held on July 31 at Wembley Stadium in London. 

2022 Women’s EURO Stadiums

A total of 10 different venues, in eight cities, will host a game. In addition to Old Trafford and Wembley, they are the home grounds of Sheffield United, Brentford, Manchester City Women, Southampton, Brighton and Hove Albion, MK Dons, Rotherham, and Manchester United Women.

MK Dons and Sheffield United’s Bramall Lane will each host a semifinal.

a stand with football supporters at manchester city

Manchester City’s Academy Stadium, here hosting a City Women game, will be a venue for the Women’s EURO 2022.

History of the European Women’s Championship 

The Women’s Euros were first held in 1984 with four teams (champion Sweden, runners-up England, Denmark and Italy). The competition stayed at four teams for the first six times it was held, before expanding to eight teams in 1997. 

In 2009, 12 teams were involved, and the Euros also started to be held every four years – they had been held every two years previously. 

The Women’s EURO 2022 (which was delayed one year due to Covid) will mark the second tournament since UEFA expanded the field from 12 teams to its current 16-team format.

Germany has dominated since the inception of the Euros, having raised the team trophy in eight of the 12 competitions. The Netherlands hosted in 2017, and also won for the first time. 

England’s best finish came as runner-up in both 1984 and 2009. 

fans watching a football game at brentford community stadium.

Brentford Community Stadium will also host Women’s EURO 2022 games.

Women’s EURO Qualification Process

A total of 48 UEFA nations entered the competition to qualify. England received an automatic berth for serving as the host nation, and the remaining 47 teams vied for 15 spots in the tournament when qualifying started in February 2019. 

Norway qualified for the twelfth time, while Sweden and Germany will be making their eleventh appearance each. Northern Ireland is the lone newcomer for 2022.

England has been drawn into Group A along with Austria, Norway and Northern Ireland. Both the group winner and runner-up will advance to the eight-team knockout stage. 

Watch the UEFA Women’s EURO England 2022

Games will be televised on BBC in the United Kingdom and on Univision and TUDN in the United States.

Written By Paul Gerald
Paul Gerald, Owner and Founder of Groundhopper Soccer Guides · Profile
Paul is a traveler, writer, publisher and soccer freak. He started Groundhopper Soccer Guides as EnglishSoccerGuide.com in 2014. When he's not kicking around England working on this site and his book, you can find him at Providence Park in Portland, cheering on the Portland Timbers.

Post Comments

Powered By MemberPress WooCommerce Plus Integration